Przejdź do menu Przejdź do treści

Cracow (Kraków) is the second largest and one of the oldest cities in Poland, its history dates back to the 7th century. It is situated on the Vistula River in the Lesser Poland region.

Cracow has traditionally been one of the leading centres of the Polish academic, cultural, and artistic life and is one of Poland’s most important economic hubs. It is home to the Jagellonian University, one of the oldest universities in the world and traditionally Poland’s most reputable institution of higher education.

Cracow is cited as one of Europe’s most beautiful cities and the most often visited place in Poland.

In 2000 Cracow was named the European Capital of Culture and it has been also approved as a UNESCO’s City of Literature.


Must See in Cracow

  • Main Market Square with the Renaissance Cloth Hall (Sukiennice)
  • St Mary’s church with the 13m (42 foot) high 15th century altarpiece, the largest Gothic sculpture in the world
  • Wawel (the former Royal Castle)
  • The Royal Road (the coronation route traversed by the Kings of Poland)
  • St. Florian's Church
  • The Barbican of Kraków (Barbakan)
  • The Florian Gate and Floriańska Street
  • Kazimierz (the former Jewish Quarter)

Cracow historic centre is one of the 13 places in Poland that are included in the UNESCO World Heritage Sites.


Useful links

Join us

Accreditations and partners

logotyp efmd
logotyp ceeman
logotyp hr
logotyp cima
logotyp eaie
logotyp bauhaus4
logotyp progres3
logotyp acca