Przejdź do menu Przejdź do treści

Poland - facts and tips

The Republic of Poland is a country in Central Europe which is bordered by Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Ukraine, Belarus, Lithuania and Russia.

Its capital and the biggest city is Warsaw. Other large cities include Kraków (Cracow), Wrocław, Poznań, Gdańsk and Szczecin.

The official language is Polish and the government type is the parliamentary democracy.

Poland is a member of the European Union, NATO, the United Nations, the World Trade Organization, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), European Economic Area, International Energy Agency, Council of Europe, Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, International Atomic Energy Agency and G6.

Population of Poland amounts to ca. 38 million people which makes it the 9th most populous country in Europe. Its area amounts to 322,575 sq km (124,547 sq miles).

Time Zone: CET (UTC+1)

Summer (DST) CEST (UTC+2)

Climate: Temperate with mild summers and moderately severe winters

Currency: Zloty (PLN, zł), 1 zloty = 100 groszy

1 USD = 4.33  PLN

1 EUR = 4.68  PLN


Links to additional information:

Useful advice, suggestions and tips for people travelling to Poland

A few words about the Polish economy: The Animated Guide to the Polish Success

A glance at Poland: Poland is beautiful


Join us

Accreditations and partners

logotyp efmd
logotyp ceeman
logotyp hr
logotyp cima
logotyp eaie
logotyp bauhaus4
logotyp progres3